What Sweeter Music - Choral Music By John Rutter

In stock
Product Code:
RELEASE DATE: 27/09/2020
1 CD

The music of John Rutter is beloved for its joyful tunes and atmospheric harmonies. It reaches beyond its roots in the English choral tradition to create soundscapes which appeal to an international audience.

In What Sweeter Music, released to mark Rutter`s 70th birthday, ABC Classics presents some of the British composer`s best-loved choral works, performed by British and Australian choirs including The Cambridge Singers under the direction of the composer himself. Alongside the well-known Pie Jesu from Requiem, the gentle tenderness of For the Beauty of the Earth and the serenity of A Gaelic Blessing, the album features a number of less frequently performed gems such as Blow, Blow, Thou Winter Wind and the joyous Wells Jubilate.

Track Listing:

1. O Be Joyful
2. Mary`s Lullaby
3. Blow, Blow, Thou Winter Wind from When Icicles Hang
4. King Jesus Hath a Garden
5. A Gaelic Blessing
6. All Things Bright and Beautiful
7. For the Beauty of the Earth
8. What Sweeter Music
9. The Lord Bless You and Keep You
10. Pie Jesu from Requiem
11. Star Carol
12. There Is a Flower
13. The Lord Is My Shepherd
14. Shepherd`s Pipe Carol
15. Angels` Carol
16. Nativity Carol
17. Open Thou Mine Eyes
18. Carol of the Magi
19. Candlelight Carol
20. Wells Jubilate

Secure Payments with: