Close Your Eyes

In stock
Product Code:
RELEASE DATE: 19/09/2020
1 CD

Following the success of her debut album Don`t Tempt Me, Sarah McKenzie presents her brand new album Close Your Eyes. A classic collection of blues, jazz and pop standards including Big Yellow Taxi, Too Young and At Last, this album is set to blow the world away.

Sarah found her passion in jazz after stumbling across a recording of pianist Oscar Peterson`s Night Train.

At 24 years of age, Sarah McKenzie - pianist, vocalist and composer - is a graduate of the West Australian Academy of Performing Arts, where she completed a Bachelor of Jazz (Composition) degree and won the Jack Bendat Scholarship, the Hawaiian Award for Most Outstanding Jazz Graduate, and the Perth Jazz Society Award for leading the Most Outstanding Group of the Year for 2008. She also sang backing vocals for Michael Bublé on the multi-Platinum artist`s `Call Me Irresponsible` Tour.

Now based back in Melbourne, her rise through the ranks of the Australian music scene has been spectacular, aided by frequent appearances at venues like Bennett`s Lane and The Paris Cat, and at major festivals. Her musical pedigree is impeccable, having been mentored by legends like Graeme Lyall, Jamie Oehlers, and especially James Morrison. In 2010 she won the James Morrison Scholarship (Vocal) - the only finalist to be nominated in both vocal and instrumental sections.

Sarah`s debut album Don`t Tempt Me was released on the ABC Music label in 2011.

Sarah McKenzie is a musical marvel. She sings with the kind of phrasing that only a true jazz singer can come up with, while her groove of the piano is the stuff that makes people want to play jazz. Don`t miss a chance to hear this lady perform live! - James Morrison

Track Listing:

1 Close Your Eyes 2`29
2 Too Young 5`45
3 The Way You look Tonight 5`45
4 The Lover`s Tune 5`04
5 Big Yellow Taxi 6`46
6 Got To Be This Way 5`15
7 I Remember You 5`55
8 Don`t Get Around Much Anymore 4`14
9 At Last 6`09
10 Blue Skies 5`25
11 I Should Care

Secure Payments with: