Shining Knight: Songs And Arias By Wagner, Griffes And Barber

In stock
Product Code:
Label Name:
ABC Classics
RELEASE DATE: 27/07/2018
1 CD
Stuart Skelton has long been acclaimed as one of the greatest heldentenors of his generation, receiving extraordinary reviews for his performances in some of opera’s most demanding roles. His incredible voice and outstanding musicianship have seen him perform all over the world. Shining Knight, recorded with the West Australian Symphony Orchestra and Asher Fisch, features arias from many of the roles that have become synonymous with Skelton – Siegmund in Die Walküre, Parsifal, Lohengrin, Siegmund – as well as Lieder and songs by Charles Griffes and Samuel Barber.
1. WAGNER Allmächt'ger Vater, blick herab from Rienzi
2. WAGNER In fernem Land, unnahbar euren Schritten from Lohengrin
3. WAGNER Winterstürme wichen dem Wonnemond from Die Walküre
4. WAGNER Amfortas! Die Wunde! Die Wunde! from Parsifal
5. WAGNER Nur eine Waffe taugt from Parsifal
6. WAGNER Wesendonck Lieder:
7. Der Engel (The Angel)
8. Stehe still! (Stand still!)
9. Im Treibhaus (In the Greenhouse)
10. Schmerzen (Sorrows)
11. Träume (Dreams)
12. GRIFFES Three Poems of Fiona MacLeod:
13. The Lament of Ian the Proud
14. Thy Dark Eyes to Mine
15. The Rose of the Night
16. BARBER Sure on this Shining Night