Schumann and Brahms Recital

In stock
Product Code:

This product will start shipping on November 6, 2020 11/06/2020

RELEASE DATE: 06/11/2020
1 CD
“For me, the Lied is the natural state where we accompany, observe and recognize ourselves. We are there with our personal feelings, left to ourselves without the direct contact with others (…) There are no limits to longing and imagination in Lieder. Time and again, as singers we have endless possibilities for conveying something quite intimately.”
- Elina Garanca -

This album is both a debut and a proof of musical pedigree. After numerous orchestral albums, for the first time Elīna Garanča devotes an entire disc to Lieder – in a phase in which the Latvian mezzo-soprano triumphs on stage with heavyweight Verdi and verismo arias.

For her first solo recital album, the mezzo-soprano has chosen two composers – Schumann and Brahms – whose works have been with her for many years.
The heart of this album is Robert Schumann’s Frauenliebe und Leben op. 42, a musical setting about devotion to love

In addition to the Schumann cycle, on this record she also dedicates herself to a selection of Brahms songs that express very different emotions and moods. Whether in Liebestreu op. 3 no. 1, Geheimnis op. 71 no. 3, Heimweh II op. 63 no. 8 or Von ewiger Liebe op. 43 no. 1

Recorded with pianist Malcolm Martineau as a highly sensitive and experienced accompanist of many years.
Frauenliebe und Leben op. 42
Adelbert von Chamisso

1 Seit ich ihn gesehen 2:33
2 Er, der Herrlichste von allen 3:16
3 Ich kann’s nicht fassen, nicht glauben 1:52
4 Du Ring an meinem Finger 2:47
5 Helft mir, ihr Schwestern 2:02
6 Süßer Freund, du blickest 4:31
7 An meinem Herzen, an meiner Brust 1:22
8 Nun hast du mir den ersten Schmerz getan 4:15

9 Liebestreu op. 3 no. 1
Robert Reinick 2:13
10 Heimweh II: “O wüsst’ ich doch den Weg zurück” op. 63 no. 8
Klaus Groth 3:39

11 Mädchenlied op. 107 no. 5
Paul Heyse 1:43
12 Liebe und Frühling II: “Ich muss hinaus” op. 3 no. 3
August Heinrich Hoffmann von Fallersleben 1:58
13 O kühler Wald op. 72 no. 3
Clemens Brentano 1:58
Secure Payments with: